A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Chaitra Navratri
Home city guide administration in thrissur

Administration in Thrissur

Every city needs to have a set of sound administrative bodies which have to function smoothly to promote development and the upkeep of the city. Thrissur is spread over an area of 101.43 km2 and is home to 1,854,783 people. It is obvious that such a big place will require a stable and able set of bodies to help it stay in good shape. Thrissur in Kerala houses the following government bodies.

District Collector & District Magistrate
District Collector Office, Civil Station,
Ayyanthole, Thrissur 680 003
Phone : 0487 – 2361020
Email : tsrcoll.ker@nic.in

Office of the district police chief.

  • Thrissur Municipality Corporation
  • Thrissur Development Authority
  • Thrissur Family Court
  • Thrissur Police

Let’s look at each of these governing bodies in detail.

Thrissur Municipal Corporation

The Thrissur Municipality was established in 1942 on the first of July, under the Cochin Municipal regulations.

58 years later, it was made into a Municipal Corporation after it included the neighbouring villages of Ollukkara, Ayyanthole, Koorkanchery, Ollur and Vilvattompamchayats, as well as certain segments of Nadathara panchayat.

The corporation was officially reinstated in 2000 on the 2nd of October which is also celebrated as Gandhi Jayanti. The corporation includes an area of 101.42 kilometers square owing to the inclusion of the five new divisions.

Email ID:mayor@corporationofthrissur.org

Email ID:secretary@corporationofthrissur.org

Social security pension toll free number  : 1800 425 5150
Electricity department :  0487-2422950 , email id: electricitydepartment@yahoo.co.in

General Enquiry
Phone: 0487-2422020

Thrissur Development Authority

The Thrissur Development Authority was formerly known as the Thrissur Urban Development Authority and was set up to conduct the development functions of Thrissur.

It was set up in 1981 by the Kerala Government. It was named as the Thrissur Urban Development Authority and had several surrounding areas under its control. Two years after its founding, the authority came into power on the 3rd of June in the year 1983.

Thrissur Family Court

The Thrissur Family Court was set up to try and settle family disputes and feuds such as divorces, custody battles and other issues that concern families. Thrissur also has a special court that was established for the trial of Essential Commodities Act Cases.

Thrissur Police

Thrissur police is the main law enforcing community that is present in the city and functions under the Kerala Police.

The entire unit is lead by the commissioner of police. They have 8 stations located all over Thrissur- namely - Traffic Police Station, Town West Police Station, Women Police Station, Nedupuzha Police Station, Town East Police Station, Mannuthy Police Station, Peechi Police Station, Ollur Police Station.

P. Prakash is the police commissioner of Thrissur.

They have set up three dedicated cells for ease of operation and they are as follows:-

District Police Chief
Mob: 9497996909

Cyber Cell

The cyber cell was set up by the Thrissur Police in 2008. It was set up to tackle the various online crimes that take place and to bring justice to the aggrieved. The Thrissur city cyber cell also organize various workshops to educate people and organizations about the various unlawful practices and how they are to be tackled. They also help in the recovery of stolen mobiles.

Phone number : 9497962836
Email : cbrceltsr.pol@kerala.gov.in

Women Cell

Safety of women is something that cannot be taken lightly and needs special attention to be paid. Many women are abused on a daily basis and need to be delivered justice by bringing their abusers to task. That is why the Vanitha cell-cum-helpline was set up in Thrissur to help these abused women. Their toll free number of 1091 works 24 hours a day to help the women in need.

Women constables attend to their cases and solve crimes pertaining to women harassment, desertion and family problems.

Shadow Police

A special unit known as the Shadow police was inducted in 2011 by Sri P Vijayan. The unit consists of specially trained men who work at a fast pace to bust crime rackets and bring criminals to justice. They conducted their first crime bust by taking down a mob boss who was smuggling drugs into Thrissur. They were duly arrested and jailed. They were also able to solve many other cases making it one of the most successful crime branches in India.

List of Police stations and their phone numbers:-

Irinjalakuda Circle-0480 2826600
Chalakkudy Circle-0480 2708331
Valappad Circle-0487 2391219
Mala Circle-0480 2890241
Ollur Circle-0487 2352320
Cherpu Circle -0487 2342220
Kunnamkulam Circle -0488 5222211
Guruvayur Circle-0487 5556362
Chavakkad Circle-0487 2507352
Wadakkanchery Circle-0488 4232223
Chelakkara Circle-0488 5252034
Anthikad Police Station-0487 2630342
Chalakkudy Police Station-0480 2708331
Chelakkara Police Station-04884 252034
Cherpu Police Station-0487 2342220
Cheruthuruthy Police Station-04884 262401
Control Room-0487 2424193
Erumapetty Police Station-04885 262240
Guruvayoor Police Station-0487 2556362
Kattoor Police Station-0480 2877590
Kodakara Police Station-0480 2720287
Kodungallur Police Station-0480 2802321
Koraty Police Station-0480 2732593
Kunnamkulam Police Station-04885 222211
Mala Police Station-0480 2890241
Malakkapara Police Station -0425 3237262
Mannuthy Police Station-0487 2370280
Mathilakom Police Station-0480 2850257
Nedupuzha Police Station-0487 2447511
Ollur Police Station-0487 2352320
Pavaratty Police Station-0487 2643360
Pazhayannur Police Station-04884 225050
Peechi Police Station, Pattikkad-0487 2284040
Peramangalam Police Station-0487 2307237
Pudukkad Police Station-0480 2751336
Thrissur Town East Police Station-0487 2424192
Thrissur Town West Police Station -0487 2363608
Traffic Police Station -0487 2444251
Vadakkanchery Police Station-04884 232223
Vadakkekad Police Station-0487 2542390
Vadanappally Police Station -0487 2600540
Valappad Police Station-0487 2391236
Vanitha Police Station-0487 2444251
Varandarappally Police Station-0480 2760150
Vellikulangara Police Station-0480 2740542
Vettilappara Police Station-0480 2769004
Viyyur Police Station -0487 2332502

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries